• A blessed Nativity / Theophany season to all! For users new and old: the forum rules were streamlined when we transitioned to the new software. Please ensure that you are familiar with them. Continued use of the forum means that you (a) know the rules, and (b) pledge that you'll abide by them. For more information, check out the OrthodoxChristianity.Net Rules section. (There are only 2 threads there - Rules, and Administrative Structure.)

Any fellow grape growers here?

Jibrail Almuhajir

Taxiarches
Reaction score
I've been growing two Concord grape vines for nearly four years now and I'm still learning the ways of pruning.  Last year I had 15 bunches of grapes, but this year I've only got 5 or 6.  Other than those dang Japanese beetles, I don't have any other problems like rot or mold.  But... when they're ripe and ready these grapes are so good your tongue will slap your brains silly! 

Anybody else here grow them?  How long and have you had much luck? 

Agabus

Taxiarches
Reaction score
Porter ODoran said:
Hillbillies grow muscies. Mighty delicious.
In the bottom where I grew up, we had a muscadine vine that grew in the top of a gum tree in our front pasture. We'd climb as high as we could to get to them, but eventually our weight exceeded our faith that the branches could hold us up.

As an adult, I moved into a piece of land in the Delta with an ancient muscadine vine that had grown thick and wide, curling in on itself over and over as it ate someone's forgotten clothesline poles. It was probably 10 feet high and wide by 16 or 17 feet long, and we have pictures of our oldest crawling to the top, the vine itself supporting his weight. It didn't produce a lot of fruit, and shortly after we moved away from that property the next resident cleared the plant away, wanting it gone for the same reason we wanted it — it obstructed the view.

juliogb

High Elder
Reaction score