• Please remember: Pray for Ukraine in the Prayer forum; Share news in the Christian News section; Discuss religious implications in FFA: Religious Topics; Discuss political implications in Politics (and if you don't have access, PM me) Thank you! + Fr. George, Forum Administrator

Has Pope Benedict Really Written Off Purgatory?

PeterTheAleut

Hypatos
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Faith
Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction
Orthodox Church in America
spiltteeth said:
Vlad said:
Coming from a RC background I was wondering if anyone could clarify what the OC teaching is on the soul after death what we call purgatory. Does the OC have something similar? I know Orthodox pray for the dead but I find the whole thing a little confusing as to why if the OC doesn't believe in a place like purgatory we are to pray for the dead. Can anyone help me with this?
I'm no expert, but Pope Ratzinger, if I understand correctly, has more or less written off purgatory from Catholic theology. His reasons are interesting if you ever wanna check out his writibgs
I found this statement quite intriguing when I first saw it in Faith Issues.  What have you Catholics to say about this?  Is this understanding of Pope Benedict's theology correct, or does it merely reveal the poster's crass ignorance?

Reaction score
Well, it would be nice to show us which of the Pope's writings is he supposedly "writing off purgatory".

The answer is simple: No, he has not written off purgatory.

PeterTheAleut

Hypatos
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Faith
Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction
Orthodox Church in America
spiltteeth said:
Ouch. I don't think my ignorance is crass...
Well, here's your chance to prove yourself. ;)

spiltteeth

Reaction score