• Please remember: Pray for Ukraine in the Prayer forum; Share news in the Christian News section; Discuss religious implications in FFA: Religious Topics; Discuss political implications in Politics (and if you don't have access, PM me) Thank you! + Fr. George, Forum Administrator

Moral Dilemma: Which Church to Attend?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simayan

High Elder
Site Supporter
Reaction score
I've thought about this for 48 hours, and after much prayer, still have no clear answer. I'm hoping you folks can help:

I just got back from visiting my college campus in Vermont which I'll be attending in less than a month. There are three Orthodox churches in the state, one in Burlington (GOA, 1 hour drive), one in Springfield (GOA, 2 hour drive), and one in Northfield (OCA).

Now, my college is in Northfield, so the OCA church is literally a 2 minute drive from school, and the deacon has kindly offered to give me a ride each Sunday. It's a military school, so as a freshman, I can only leave campus on Sundays, cannot have a car, and must wear a full dress-grey uniform wherever I go.

My mom and I went to visit the OCA church, and were immediately taken aback by a few things.  Even though Bishop Nikon had come to visit, everyone was in shorts and t-shirts, and some smelled as if they hadn't bathed in days. Looked a lot like aging hippies, mostly, which I have no problem with. The second odd part was that nobody seemed interested, or even noticed, that we were there, and did not help introduce us to many of the Russian customs, of which we know nothing about. And even though they greeted and joked with each other prior to the service, I assumed we would be approached after church, and that this was just a local tradition I wasn't used to.