• For users new and old: the forum rules were streamlined when we transitioned to the new software. Please ensure that you are familiar with them. Continued use of the forum means that you (a) know the rules, and (b) pledge that you'll abide by them. For more information, check out the OrthodoxChristianity.Net Rules section. (There are only 2 threads there - Rules, and Administrative Structure.)

Starting a PhD in History program in August

ironchapman

High Elder
Reaction score
Some of you know by now that I have a Master's in History from Georgia Southern University. I've had it set out as a goal to get my PhD in History since I started college. After graduating from GSU with my MA, I encountered some difficult times. I wanted some time off from education for a year or so, but I ended up struggling to find and keep jobs (turns out that your average employer doesn't want someone with an MA working as a sales associate), and jobs in education or historical sites just work out.

So, this past Fall, I resolved to begin applying for schools again to continue my education. Since I wanted to study American Indian or American Western history, I applied to four schools out west where such specialties are common: University of Montana, Montana State, Nevada-Reno, and the University of North Dakota.

After the first two rejected me, I started to lose hope again (Montana State rejected me only 48 hours after the deadline for submissions, still curious why). However, I received word from UND's History graduate director that they had voted to admit me into the program with a teaching assistantship and a full tuition waiver.